Local Officials

Board of Supervisors

Visit the Board of Supervisors page for contact information. 

Constitutional Officers

Office Name
Clerk of the Circuit Court Valerie P. Younger
Commissioner of the Revenue Calvin Massie, Jr.
Commonwealth's Attorney Paul McAndrews
Sheriff Winston W. "Whit" Clark, III
Treasurer Sheila M. Smith

County Administration

Daily management of the County is handled by the County Administrator.
Office Name
County Administrator Frank J. Rogers IV
Deputy County Administrator Clifton M. Tweedy
Animal Warden Joseph B. David Jr.
Building Official Jonathan Pugh
Commissioner of Accounts George W. Nolley
Community Development Director Paul E. Harvey
County Attorney F.E. "Tripp" Isenhour III
Economic Development Manager  Nina Rezai
Management Services Director  Ronna Johnson-Davis
Health Services Director Dr. Kerry Gateley
Library Director L. Jordan Welborn
Management Services Director Ronna Johnson-Davis
Public & Employee Relations Director / Public Information Officer Sherry F. Harding
Public Safety Director Tracy M. Fairchild
Recreation Director Mary H. Pascale
Registrar Kelly L. Martin
School Superintendent Dr. Robert Johnson II
Social Services Director Lisa Linthicum
Staff Attorney Kristin B. Wright
Youth, Adult and Community Services Director Paul E. Harvey
Zoning and Subdivision Administrator Austin R. Mitchell


The towns of Altavista and Brookneal have a Town Council form of government consisting of a mayor and six council members. Each town council appoints a town manager to oversee daily operations

Town of Altavista

Mayor: Mike Mattox
Town Manager: Waverly Coggsdale
Altavista website

Town of Brookneal

Mayor: Phyllis Campbell
Town Manager: Russell Thurston
Brookneal website