Planning Commission

The Campbell County Planning Commission consists of seven members, one appointed for each electoral district. 

Virginia law [Section 15.2-2210] mandates that every locality must have a Planning Commission. The purpose of the Planning Commission is to serve as a liaison between the public and the Board of Supervisors, serving as advisors to the elected governing body.

The Campbell County Planning Commission is charged with reviewing and advising the Board of Supervisors on the following matters:

• Comprehensive Plan updates

• Proposed changes to the subdivision and zoning ordinances

• Rezoning and special use permit requests

In addition, the Campbell County Planning Commission serves as the Board of Supervisors’ authorized agent to review and approve plats. 

Meeting agendas and minutes are available on this website in the Agenda Center. Information about public hearings can be found on the Public Hearings page. 

Meeting Schedule

The Planning Commission generally meets every fourth Monday of the month at 7 p.m. in the Board Room of the Haberer Building, located at 47 Courthouse Lane, Rustburg.

2023 Planning Commission

District Contact Information Expiration of Term
Altavista Thomas K. Lawton, Secretary
​1502 Peerman School Rd
​Altavista, VA 24517
​(434) 509-9293 (cell)
Brookneal Dean B. Monroe, Vice Chair
​14286 Brookneal Hwy
​Gladys, VA 24554
​(434) 942-0515 (home)
Concord Megan E. Witt
​60 Light Drive
​Concord, VA 24538
​(434) 426-6711 (home)
Rustburg Michael S. Condrey
​2051 Rocky Rd
​Rustburg, VA 24588
​(434) 515-3603 (home/mobile)
Spring Hill K. William Kirk, Chair
​141 Sherbrooke Dr
​Lynchburg, VA 24502
(434) 239-9181 (business)
Sunburst John E. Thilking
​355 Wildwood Road
​Lynchburg, VA 24502
​(434) 522-9862 (work)
Timberlake Trish R. Hedges
143 Timberlake Drive
Lynchburg, VA  24502
(434) 841-4132 (home/mobile)
Board Member Representative Steve Shockley
​230 Bridge Tree Court
​Evington, VA 24550
​(434) 944-2274 (mobile)