Emergency Communications     (E-911) Division

The Campbell County Department of Public Safety Communications Division is a full-service emergency communications center operating 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

As a frequent point of first contact with the Campbell County community, dispatchers receive reports of crime, emergencies, and requests from the immediate community. 

Myra Simpson for website


The Communications Division provides local dispatch support for the following branches of career and volunteer services: 

  • Animal Control
  • Emergency Medical Services (EMS)
  • Fire
  • Law Enforcement

Law enforcement, fire, and rescue services are dispatched accordingly and as appropriate from the County's call center, located at 34 Communications Lane, Rustburg. 

Enhanced 911 System

An enhanced 9-1-1 emergency communications system allows computer tracking of citizen calls and assists in accurate dispatching and response of fire, rescue, and law enforcement agencies. Under the E-9-1-1 system, all roads are named and all structures are assigned a number on roads with three or more habitable dwellings.

Emergency Medical Dispatching Program

The E-9-1-1 system also allows for the utilization of the Emergency Medical Dispatching (EMD) program, where a communications officer may provide basic medical instructions to a 9-1-1 caller in order to assist a sick and/or injured person. The County's EMD program is fully implemented and all dispatch staff are trained and certified in the protocol.

In addition, dispatch staff attend refresher training annually to stay informed of the latest techniques in prevention. As a result, the program has led to improvements in patient care and several documented "saves" or situations where EMD intervention has helped save a life.


The Campbell County Department of Public Safety's Communications Division is accredited by the Association of Public Safety Communications Officers (APCO) for meeting all requirements (training, certifications, successful QA/QI scores, etc.) as prescribed by the Office of Emergency Medical Service.