Skip to main content

Campbell County Government

Campbell County has a Board of Supervisors / County Administrator form of government. This complies with the Code of Virginia, which dictates that each county in the Commonwealth be governed by a board of supervisors elected by qualified voters. The Campbell County Board of Supervisors is composed of one member from each of its seven electoral districts. Board members are elected for four year terms which are staggered. Elections are held in November of odd numbered years.

The Board is responsible for establishing personnel policies, making land use decisions, creating growth and development policies, setting tax rates and operational policies and reviewing and adopting the County's operational and capital budgets which set spending priorities.  

Section 4 of the Virginia Constitution establishes the constitutional offices of Treasurer, Sheriff, Commonwealth's Attorney, Clerk of the Court and Commissioner of the Revenue to be elected within each city and county in Virginia.

The County Administrator is the Board's Agent, responsible for implementing these policies and priorities on a daily basis.

Regularly scheduled meetings of the Board of Supervisors are  held on the first Tuesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. with the Board addressing administrative items, as needed, until 6:00 p.m. The Board will recess from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m., reconvening at 7:00 p.m. to address any unfinished matters and/or conduct any scheduled public hearings. Board of Supervisors meetings are held on the basement level of the Haberer Building, 47 Courthouse Lane, Rustburg, VA 24588.

When needed the Board of Supervisors will hold a work session on the third Tuesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. or other designated hour in the Board Multi-Use Room, located on the basement level of the Haberer Building.

All meetings are open to the public.  Any citizen may request time on the agenda by contacting the clerk of the board at (434) 332-9525.  Such requests must be made at least two weeks prior to the respective meeting date.

The towns of Brookneal and Altavista have a Town Council form of government, consisting of a mayor and six council members.

Each town council appoints a town manager to oversee daily operations.

Campbell County is represented in the State Senate by Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr., 15th District and Senator Steven D. Newman, 23rd District; and in the House of Delegates by Delegate Kathy J. Byron, 22nd District, Delegate Matthew C. Fariss, 59th District and Delegate James E. Edmunds, III, 60th District.